Beer Boiled Peanuts

I’ve been looking for green peanuts so I could boil them and haven’t had much joy until I found some at Publix. Yay to me.

The recipe I used this time is scaled down from the recipe I’ve posted before as I was only able to find the smaller bags and I didn’t want to spend all day over the Dutch oven. Cooking them in the slow cooker is very easy.

Super flavorful and mega delicious.

Beer Boiled Peanuts

2 lbs of green peanuts
1 quart of beer – about 2 ½ bottles
¼ cup Old Bay Seasoning or Zatarain’s Shrimp and Crab Boil
3/4 cup kosher salt (I used Morton Coarse Kosher Salt)

Rinse the peanuts and remove any stems, sticks and empty shells.

Pour the beer into the slow cooker with the salt and seasoning. Pour in 3 additional quarts of water. Stir to dissolve the seasoning. Place the peanuts into the slow cooker being careful not to splash the salty liquid everywhere. Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours or until peanuts are softened and flavorful. As they soften, they will sink so that is another way to tell that they’re getting done.

Good boiled peanuts are salty and briny but if the peanuts are too salty, remove some of the boiling liquid and replace with an equal volume of water. Taste again after an hour. Conversely, if they require more seasoning, add salt and seasoning in 2 tablespoon amounts, let cook and taste again.

To freeze, place in zip top bags. I store mine in pint bags. Place frozen peanuts in a small saucepan with water and bring to a boil. After 5 minutes of boiling the peanuts will be warm and ready to eat.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.