Roasting Minced Garlic

I keep a jar of minced garlic somewhere in the refrigerator for when I don’t have fresh or, like today, I find out that my fresh had actually sprouted! I will probably plant those but I needed a way to get roasted garlic from minced without burning it.

When I have a whole head, I cut off the top of the garlic head, pour over some olive oil and roast, wrapped in aluminum foil for at least 30 minutes in a 350 degree F oven. When I have loose cloves, I put them (paper and all) in a skillet and almost cover with olive oil. Putting the skillet over medium heat until the oil shimmers, I turn down the heat and let it simmer until soft, about 30 minutes. Once cool, the paper comes off very easy. The benefit of this method is that you get a good quantity of garlic oil out of the deal that you can refrigerate and use in lots of ways.

To roast my minced garlic, however, I needed to do something else. So I preheated the oven to 325 degrees F and put the garlic in a shallow oven proof dish. I mixed the garlic with olive oil and spread it in a thin layer across the bottom of the dish and roasted in the oven for 10 minutes, stirring once. The garlic darkened and mellowed but didn’t turn bitter or burn.

Perfect for me to use in garlic bread!

Leave a Reply

