German Sausage with Crusty Rolls

My brother-in-law, Wayne, contacted me about the upcoming Elberta German Sausage Festival. That reminded me that I had some German sausage I had picked up from my Dad at the beginning of the summer in the freezer that needed to be grilled.

Poaching and Grilling German Sausage and Brats

8-10 links sausage
4 bottles beer (don’t use your good imported stuff here)
1 large onion, quartered

Bring beer and onion to a boil in a large Dutch oven. Nestle in the sausage links together under the liquid and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 20 to 30 minutes. The internal temperature of fully cooked sausages should be around 160 degrees F.

While the sausages are simmering, build a small fire in your grill. Set it up for direct cooking and finish off the sausages with a couple of minutes per side for about 5 to 10 minutes total or until they pick up a nice char.

img_3126

You just can’t eat your wurst on a hotdog bun. You need a roll but not just any will do. You must have a crusty roll – what the Germans call brotchen. They’re hard to find in the states and, especially, in the South. When all else fails, sometimes you have to make your own.

The closest recipe I’ve found can be found on the King Arthur Flour website. Go to their blog for a good step-by-step guide with handy pictures. Be prepared – these take a while but they are so very good it makes it worthwhile.

img_3129

Don’t I have beautiful buns?

I only divided the dough into 8 pieces – I like a slightly larger bun to wurst ratio! I increased the cook time to 25 minutes.

Serve your German sausage with a good mustard and Hot German Potato Salad.

img_3141

Guten Appetit!

Leave a Reply

