Bittersweet Pretzel Toffee

I was never a fan of chocolate covered pretzels, as the ratio of chocolate to salt to crunch was a little off. Then, I discovered Dark Chocolate Pretzel Bark Thins. Absolutely sensational.

Life was good. I was slowly going broke to keep up with my addiction but, at least, I had deep chocolatey deliciousness to keep me company, right? Necessity being the mother of invention, I have now started on the path to make a version of it for myself. This particular experiment started as a saltine toffee recipe and I just went from there. Since it is a bit more sweet than chocolate or salty (pretty tasty, just not what I was going for), I’ll be going back to the drawing board.

Until then, enjoy!

IMG_0222

Bittersweet Pretzel Bark

about 2 cups pretzel sticks
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
1 cup light brown sugar
2 1/2 cups semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)
1 teaspoon flake salt like Maldon

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Cover a 15×10 inch baking pan with aluminum foil.  In a single layer arrange the pretzels in the bottom of the pan.

In a large saucepan melt the butter and add the brown sugar.  Bring to a boil and boil for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Do not over cook the sugar.

Carefully pour the sugar and butter over the pretzels.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Remove from the oven.

Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top.  Let stand 5 minutes to melt, then spread the chocolate smooth. Sprinkle the flake sea salt over the top.

Refrigerate for 1 hour.  Pull foil away from toffee and break it into pieces.

IMG_0225

Leave a Reply

