Perfectly Minty Peach Cocktail

IMG_7977The peaches were beautiful at the Crescent City Farmer’s Market today. Of course, they were from Chilton County, Alabama (only the best will do).

After eating one over the sink, as it was so juicy, I decided I needed to make a drink to highlight them.

Perfectly Minty Peach Cocktail

1/4 cup fresh squeezed lime juice
1/4 cup mint simple syrup, recipe follows
2 to 3 fresh peaches, diced (about 1 1/2 cups)
1/3 cup rum
ice cubes

In a blender add the lime juice, simple syrup, peaches and rum. Mix to combine. Adjust to taste. Add ice cubes to blender and mix until chilled and frothy.

Serve in glasses with a slice of peach and a sprig of mint.

IMG_7981

Mint Simple Syrup: Bring 1 cup sugar and 1 cup water to a simmer, stirring until all of the sugar is dissolved. Pour over mint leaves and allow to cool and steep for thirty minutes. Remove mint and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator until ready to use.

2 thoughts on “Perfectly Minty Peach Cocktail

  1. I wonder how it would taste with something other than rum. Rum gives me a killer headache every single time. I was out of town this morning for the Chilton peaches first day at Slidell’s Camellia Farmer’s Market. I hope they are there next week!

    • I was actually planning to use tequila (hence the lime juice) but I remembered the rum someone brought me from their cruise that had hints of vanilla so I switched to it.

Leave a Reply

