Cockle Warming, Southern Style

This is weird weather here in New Orleans – our daily low temperatures in November typically range from 49°F to 57°F.  Yesterday, it almost reached 80 degrees F; tonight it is down to 40 degrees.

After walking the dog tonight, I decided to make myself a hot toddy to warm up from the inside out. There are just so many choices – hot buttered rum, honey lemon bourbon, apple brandy, etc, etc. Standing in my kitchen and staring at the many boxes of tea, I decided to do a tea based toddy. I’m also Southern so it needed bourbon and, when I think bourbon I also think about mint juleps. Perfect!

mint toddy

Winter Julep

1 tablespoon (packed) brown sugar
1 tablespoon water
1 mint tea bag (I use Plantation mint)
1 oz. bourbon

Make a brown sugar syrup by combining brown sugar and water and bringing to a boil. Pour into a mug to warm the glass up.

Infuse mint tea in a cup of boiling water for about 4 minutes.

Pour bourbon into mug with brown sugar syrup, stir to combine. Fill up mug with mint tea. Garnish with mint leaves, if you have them.

Recipe based on one from Lara Creasy – Winter Julep

Leave a Reply

