Honey, Mustard, Lime Chicken

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.
A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

I love honey. In my pantry, I have beautiful bottles of orange blossom honey from Florida, sourwood honey from Asheville, North Carolina and Tupelo honey from Mississippi as well as a jar from St. Bernard Parish bees. When I travel, I try as many local varieties as I can and still dream of the lavender honey I had in France, the manuka honey from Australia and the thyme honey from Greece. While I love it on biscuits and to sweeten a nice cuppa tea, I also love using it in marinades. A favorite of mine is this honey, mustard, lime chicken.

honey chicken

1 tablespoon coarse ground mustard
2 tablespoons honey
3 tablespoons lime juice

Those amounts, whisked together, will marinade 2 chicken breasts for cooking in a skillet. I up the amounts when marinading a whole chicken for grilling (4, 8, 12). Marinade for at least 30 minutes and as long as 3 hours.

For the grill, I filled a chimney fire starter with about a quart or so of charcoal briquets and built a fire on two sides of the bottom grate. I grilled the chicken breast side down for 20 minutes and then turned it over to cook for an hour.

Make another recipe of the honey, mustard, lime juice and whisk it together in a small saucepan. Bring the sauce to a boil. Plate the chicken and spoon over the sauce. Serve with wild rice (continue the honey theme by adding a tablespoon of honey to the rice water).

And, here’s a picture of my dog, supervising the grilling:

daisy helping me grill

Leave a Reply

