Cacao Nib Dry Rub

I sometimes like savory in my desserts and I also like to occasionally add sweet to my savory dishes. This particular dry rub contains cacao nibs (roasted, shelled cacao beans) ie raw chocolate.

This recipe is for a dry rub. I usually make this the day I want to use it. Typically, I coat a venison or beef roast with it and then wrap up the meat in plastic wrap for a few hours before grilling. The nibs adds a depth of flavor – chocolatey, a little nutty with a hint of bitterness. I use Scharffen Berger Cacao Nibs and they can be found in a lot of natural food stores.

Cacao Nib Dry Rub

2 tablespoons Cacao Nibs
2 teaspoons dried red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground mustard, I like Coleman’s
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon allspice
2 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
2 tablespoons Kosher salt

Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor, spice grinder, or mortar and pestle. Grind until the nibs break into particles about the size of coarse cornmeal. Use immediately or store in an air tight container.

cocoa nibs dry rub

One thought on “Cacao Nib Dry Rub

  1. Pingback: Cacao: The Food of the Gods - Mind•Food•Life

Leave a Reply

