Fried eggs

I’m not a fan of a lot of white with my fried eggs. I end up cutting the extra off at the table and that doesn’t look good on the plate.

Enter me browsing through John Besh’s My New Orleans cookbook and I see a cool egg recipe pictured with eggs and not much white. His recipe is a little odd but I decide to try it and it works! Not only does it let me cook distracted and not have to stand over the stove but the majority of the white just pulled away as I removed the cooked eggs from the pan.

1 tsp butter, softened
2 eggs
salt and pepper to taste

Take 9 inch, room temperature cast iron skillet and rub with the softened butter. Break the eggs in opposites sides and turn the burner on to medium low. Now, walk away! Toast the bread, heat the bacon, pour the juice. Come back to see if the yolk is at the proper consistency for your taste. Lightly salt and pepper. Remove from pan, leaving excess white.

fried eggs

As you can see from the picture, a lot of the white spreads out, leaving two beautiful ovals of white surrounding the yolk.

Here is my happy breakfast on the plate:

happy breakfast

Yummy! Thanks, John!

Leave a Reply

