Steak n Shake

My Mom and I are continuing our travels across Tennessee and we came across a Steak n Shake in Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia (it is really easy to fall into Georgia when you’re visiting the Chattanooga area). My last memory of being in one was insisting my parent’s take me to get the Star Wars collectable glasses when they came out. I didn’t remember the food at all.

Steak n Shake is a fast casual, sit down restaurant with a 50’s diner theme. The menu offers a lot of choices on burgers, hot dogs, melts and shakes. We started with chocolate milkshakes. Hand dipped, thick enough to need a spoon and well flavored, I ate half of mine before my meal was delivered.

I ordered the single steakburger with cheese. Not a very big patty (it didn’t fill the bun). With the lettuce and tomato and pickle on it, you could hardly taste the meat at all. The menu pushed the double steakburger and now I know why.

steak and shake

Mom ordered the patty melt and it was one of the best I had eaten in a long time – buttery, toasted bread, lots of cheese, a good burger  to bread ratio and the onions fried to perfection.

patty melt

We also ordered the chili cheese fries and they were good – nice amount of melted cheese and a pretty good chili on them.

Service was efficient and courteous.

Leave a Reply

