Bourbon House

I’m the chair of the Host Committee that will be bringing the Golden Crown Literary Society Annual Conference to New Orleans in 2015. I’ve been going around to a lot of hotels and today was the Astor Crown Plaza at the corner of Bourbon and Canal.

At the end of my tour, I went for lunch at Dickie Brennan’s Bourbon House. We waited at the oyster bar until they opened up the dining room and then enjoyed a terrific meal.

The Leidenheimer French bread was perfect and I could have filled up on that alone but we also had the Calamari to start. Usually a fan of cocktail sauce, I was pleasantly surprised by how well the chipolte aioli went with the lightly breaded squid.

For lunch, I went with the Gulf Fish on the Half Shell – today’s catch was Redfish that was sprinkled with spices, broiled skin side down and bathed in butter before being topped with lump crabmeat. Absolutely delectable.

IMG_20130621_114950_822

 

It was more than I’m usually comfortable spending for lunch but the meal was very delicious (Thanks, Glenn, for buying me such a good meal!). The staff was excellent – drinks filled up before we reached the halfway point, friendly and knowledgable about the menu and they checked in regularly without being obtrusive.

Leave a Reply

